Daylesford's Lost Children Monument refurbished

Daylesford’s iconic Lost Children’s Grave Monument has recently been refurbished at a cost of almost $3000.   

The refurbishment was paid for by the Daylesford and District Historical Society, with funds from the Graham Grave Trust and also from the society’s own funds.

The refurbishment included pressure washing the entire area, repointing of the stonework, painting of the fence and regilding of over 400 characters on the monument. 

The refurbishment will protect this important monument for at least another 30 years.

The monument, erected in 1868, was paid for by public subscription and fundraising activities in an outpouring of grief following the discovery of the boys’ bodies on September 14, 1867. 

The boys, William Graham, his brother Thomas and a friend Alfred Burman wandered away from their homes at Connells Gully near Table Hill on June 30, 1867 and were never seen alive again.

William and Thomas’ father donated funds for a scholarship at Daylesford Primary School in appreciation of what the people of Daylesford had done for his family. 

The scholarship, known as the Graham Dux has been awarded to a boy and girl each year since 1889. 

John E.Menadue’s book The Story of The Three Lost children is  available from the society at a cost of $7.20. 

Phone the society on 5348 1453 or the secretary on 5348 3309 if you would like a copy.  The monument and grave site are towards the northern boundary fence in Section 10, Row E, Daylesford Cemetery.

Smartphone
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide
Desktop