Townrow leads Mt Clear to Central Highlands twenty20 title

Mt Clear is the Central Highlands cricket region division one twenty20 champion for a fourth time.

The Mounties accounted for Gisborne Cricket Association’s Riddell by 114 runs to claim the Cricket Willow Cup at Shepherds Flat.

Nathan Yates and Curt Townrow took the Gisborne attack apart on their way to a daunting team tally of 4-255.

Yates smashed four sixes and seven fours in getting 66, but it was Townrow who set alight the annual Australia Day carnival.

Enjoying a fine run in all forms of the game in his first season with Mt Clear, Townrow made 87 off just 29 balls. He hit eight sixes and six fours.

Ash George capped off the innings with 57 to ensure Mt Clear was able to bounce back from its loss to Golden Point in the BCA twenty20 final.

Darcy Thomson bowled 3-20.